The Gay Games

Chicago 2014 Gay Games

Upcoming Gay Games: Cleveland 2014

The next Gay Games will take place from August 9 – 16, 2014, in Cleveland, Ohio. Read more.

Past Gay Games

The Gay Games were conceived in 1980 by Dr. Tom Waddell as a "vehicle of change," to empower gay athletes and transform lives and attitudes within and outside the gay community.

Following the first and second Gay Games in San Francisco (1982 and 1986), the Gay Games have been hosted by Vancouver, BC (1990); New York City (1994); Amsterdam (1998); Sydney, Australia (2002); Chicago, Illinois (2006); and Cologne, Germany (2010). Team Vancouver was created in 1989 to bring Gay Games III to Vancouver; We also hosted the Federation of Gay Games AGM in 2001. 

Team Vancouver athletes and teams brought home 13 medals from the 2006 Chicago Gay Games. See medal winners

More on the Federation of Gay Games